

CT-AIMH 2012

Year in Review

The Connecticut Association for Infant Mental Health continues to experience excitement and growth in promoting the beliefs, knowledge and skills important to successful work with infants and toddlers and their families. We are grateful to our funders for their support of our work in 2012:

Children's Fund, Child Health and Development Institute Department of Children and Families Department of Developmental Services, Birth to Three Head Start Collaboration Office New Britain Promising Starts

We offer our appreciation and thank you's to all our many advocates and champions. All have helped to make the following possible:

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- **↓** Two new persons joined our Board Directors: **Melissa Mendez**, IMH-E®, Promising Starts Coordinator and Child FIRST clinical director, and **Rob Riley**, Senior Business Analyst, Travelers Insurance. Rob came to us through Hartford's Leaders on Board, a program of Leadership Greater Hartford.
- We welcomed Wendy Kwalwasser from DCF and Deborah Watson, Children's Trust Fund/DSS, to the Board as non-voting agency representatives.
- ♣ Melissa Mendez, IMH-E® became Vice-President of the Board of Directors upon the resignation of Tanika Simpson, IMH-E®. Tanika resigned to take the position of Endorsement Coordinator.
- ₩ We began process of engaging a bookkeeper to record and report our financials electronically.
- Financial Compilations were completed for 2011 and an auditor was engaged for compiling an audit for 2012 financials.

INFANT MENTAL HEALTH COMPETENCIES AND ENDORSEMENT®

- ♣ We welcomed Tanika Simpson, IMH-E® as our Endorsement Coordinator.
- We continue to use the on-line Endorsement Application System (EASy) and six people completed their portfolios on line.

- **↓** Two people completed their exams and attained Endorsement in 2012: Melissa Mendez, IMH-E® and Aileen McKenna, IMH-E®.
- ♣ We continue to work with Anne Giordano to promote the competencies among the Early Head Start Communities.
- ₩ We offered four year-long groups of reflective supervision sponsored by Head Start, Birth to Three, and DCF and facilitated by Endorsed Infant Mental Health Mentors and Infant Mental Health Specialist: Kim Shepardson Watson, IMH-E®, Heather Bonitz-Moore, IMH-E®, Christiana Mills, IMH-E® and Tanika Simpson, IMH-E®.
- With funding from a federal grant to support the DCF/Head Start Collaboration in CT, we initiated a series of workshops with DCF staffs in Hartford and Manchester around the competencies and specifically on Working in Collaboration to Support Families with Challenges. Local presenters included: Margaret Holmberg, Grace Whitney, Melissa Mendez and Anne Giordano. All hold Endorsement® in Infant Mental Health.
- Responses to the DCF/HS training have been dramatic and indicate real learning about infant mental health. The following were shared during the federal site visit:
 - I understand the parallel process, I now look at baby and mom cues, I pay attention to the baby...
 - o I look at things with a different lens now.
 - I do more questioning now
 - I know how to read babies' cues.
 - o I communicate (with parents and staff) in a different way now.
- ♣ Our 2012 Fall Conference featured Kathy Blomquist, IMH-E®, from Minnesota speaking on *Using Videotaping/Filming to Support Sensitive Caregiving*.

COMMUNICATION AND COLLABORATION

- ★ Two people attended the League of States (states offering Endorsement®) in Los Angeles: Tanika Simpson and Margaret Holmberg. Both served on panels presenting information about CT leadership in infant mental health.
- ♣ People holding endorsement participated in League committees: research, policy, leaders, and endorsement coordinators: Margaret Holmberg, Catherine O'Brien, Grace Whitney, Tanika Simpson, and Anne Giordano.
- ₩ We are members of CT Early Childhood Alliance, Comprehensive System of Personnel Development, and Leadership Greater Hartford.
- Our on-line communication and event registration with continue to be successful.



Endorsement® Holders in Connecticut

Heather Bonitz-Moore

Lois Davis

Eulalia Feliciano

Anne Giordano

Margaret Holmberg

Rachel Keesler

Dale Saul

Kim Watson-

Shepardson

Nancy Close

Melissa Mendez

Aileen McKenna

Christiana Mills

Catherine O'Brien

Abigail Phelps

Tanika Simpson

Suzanne Weber

Grace Whitney

Board of Directors

Margaret Holmberg, President Melissa Mendez, Vice President Kareena DuPlessis, Secretary Nancy Canata, Treasurer Marianne Barton Lois Davis **Darcy Lowell** Aileen McKenna Rob Riley Joann Robinson Susan Vater

Agency Representatives

Wendy Kwalwasser, DCF
Deborah Watson, Childrens Trust Fund/DSS
Grace Whitney, Head Start Collaboration Office